
REPRINT 

Graduated Driver License 
47 O. S. § 6-105 et seq.  

(Applies to new applicants under 18 years of age) 

 

 
License 

Type 

 
Driving 

Privileges 

 
Requirements 

 
With Driver Education * 

 
No Driver Education 

 
No License 

 
When: While receiving instruction 

from and accompanied by a 

certified driver education instructor 

 
 At least 15 years old 

 While receiving instruction 

from a certified instructor 

 

 
(Not eligible) 

 
Learner 

Permit 

 

Restriction 9 

 
When:  While accompanied in the 

front seat by a licensed driver at 

least 21 years old 

 
 At least 15 1/2 years old 

 Must be enrolled in or have 

completed driver education 

 Must have passed written 

driving exam 

 Must have passed vision exam 

 

 
 At least 16 years old 

 Must have passed written 

driving exam 

 Must have passed vision exam 

 
Intermediate 

License 

 

Restriction G 

 

 
When:  5 a.m. to 11 p.m., unless  

for activities related to school, 

church, or work 

OR Any time if accompanied in the 

front seat by licensed driver at least 

21years old 

Passengers:  1 passenger 

OR Only people who live in driver's 

home 

OR Any passenger if accompanied 

in the front seat by licensed driver 

at least 21years old 

 
 Must have a Learner Permit 

for at least 6 months 

 Must have completed at least 

40 hrs (10 hours at night) of 

behind-the-wheel training 

from a licensed driver at least 

21 years old and licensed for 

at least 2 years (parent must 

certify this) 

 Must have no traffic 

convictions on driving record 

 Must have passed driving 

skills exam 

 

 
 Must have a Learner Permit at 

least 6 months 

 Must have completed at least 

40 hrs (10 hours at night) of 

behind-the-wheel training 

from a licensed driver at least 

21 years old and licensed for 

at least 2 years (parent must 

certify this) 

 Must have no traffic 

convictions on driving record 

 Must have passed driving 

skills exam 

 
 
Unrestricted 

License 

 
When: Unrestricted 

Passengers: Unrestricted 

 
 Must have an Intermediate 

License for at least 6 months 

 Must have no traffic 

convictions on driving record 

 

 
 Must have an Intermediate 

License for at least 1 year 

 Must have no traffic 

convictions on driving record 

 
- OR - 

 

 Must be at least 18 years old 

 Must have passed all driving and vision exams 

 

* Driver Education means one of the following: 

 

 A prescribed secondary school driver education course, as provided for in Sections 19-113 through 19-121 of 

Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes 

 A driver education course, certified by the Department of Public Safety, from a parochial, private, or other 

nonpublic secondary school 

 A commercial driver training course, as defined by Sections 801 through 808 of Title 47 

 A parent-taught driver education course, certified by the Department of Public Safety 
 

Note:  This matrix was provided by the Oklahoma State Department of Public Safety. 


